convention 2003
2003-02-16 at 8:51 p.m.

i had convention for my church this weekend, and i must say it was a big success. i gave my speech on friday night, and, i actually did really well. i didn't know i had the ability to stand in front of 1,077 people and share that story slowly, without stuttering at all, and impact them. the room was dead silent for the entire time, but when i looked out i actually had everyone's eyes. throughout the rest of the weekend different people i didn't know came up and said they were really touched, or that i impacted them, or simply said i did well. this meant so much to me. just to hear that people could relate was amazing. and, then, one of the 50 some priests who were there pulled me aside and said how i had inspired him and others. that was something i never expected to hear. the priest who gave the homily also talked about me and compared me to peter the apostle (?!?) i think i surprised a lot of people. i really am proud of myself for once.

i also had the honor or recieving the manus christi award (it stands for "hands of christ"). it's a surprise, and you don't know that you're recieving it until saturday afternoon. 13 graduating seniors recieved it, including me. it was such a huge honor and i really felt like it was a succesful last convention. it wasn't exactly a very fun convention, so i am happy i impacted people and played a big role in the weekend. i was also happy because my parents and nate and mitch all came down today to accept the award with me, and they got to see what convention is really about. all in all a productive weekend i guess.

just came home from mitch's, he let me try and play his bass tonight. i really think it'd be cool to play guitar, but i don't see myself picking it up. well, i guess i just wanted to say hello. hello.

oh my - 2005-10-21
miss you - 2004-12-12
bye duckie - 2004-11-17
..trying to be lately - 2004-11-01
guess i'm doing fine - 2004-10-05

previous & next
newest archives profile notes image design host